Fanchon – S/T EP

Fanchon

Can you spell it!? W-R-I-T-E-R-S-B-L-O-C-K! Yay for sitting on your arse and not doing anything for a few weeks! I was trying to unravel the mystery of the latest Zerfalt cassette on the YDLMIER label, and I fell into a terrible writer’s block. But I’m on my way out of it now, and taking it easy with a cassette I was given recently by Negation Records. Because what’s easier than a new EP from a blackened/black metal/crust/experimental/thrash/death metal band on a German indie music label?

Negation Records contacted me about the new release by Fanchon, a new(?) “blackened death metal band with hints of crust elements”. I had heard of neither the band or the label prior, and they were gracious enough to send me a promo cassette of the EP, which is available as a 7″ on both Negation Records and Fragile Branch Recordings.

According to the label themselves, there isn’t much to say about the two dudes of Fanchon, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they are in some of the other projects signed on the labels. Both Negation and Fragile Branch has some interesting stuff, if you go by the covers at least, haven’t heard many of the artists on them. However, I do have to say that the logo for Fanchon is not up my sleeve. It feels quite lazy and a bit uninspired. I mean, a black and white picture of the virgin Mary with the most stock black letter font available? Jeez guys, not even a little inverted cross or a pentagram with a goat in the background? You can do better!

But what about the music then? That’s the most important part right? True, but sadly, I feel it’s quite lacking too… While the artists themselves aren’t bad, or the music isn’t horrendous, it’s just meh, bland, run of the mill, average. Think of a lo-fi recording of a slowish crust band, and there you have Fanchon. It has a bit more tint of black metal, but that’s about it.

Yeah, don’t have much more to say about them, other than if you like some well made, albeit simple, crust/black metal, and fancy supporting indie labels, give it a shot. Just don’t expect it to blow your mind.

Negation Records/Fragile Branch Recordings/Encyclopaedia Metallum 

Leave a comment

Filed under Black Metal, Crust, Fanchon, German, Lo-FI

Leave a Reply

